Umbria and its towns

Umbria covers an area of approximately 8,500 square kilometres. Its neighbouring regions are Tuscany, the Marches and Latium, and it is the only region of the Italian peninsula to have no coastline. It is divided into two provinces: Perugia and Terni.
Its name derives from one of the oldest Italic peoples, the Umbrians, who settled in a large part of central Italy in prehistoric times but after the advent of the Etruscans limited themselves to the left bank of the Tiber.
Umbria kept the same name in Roman times but this referred to a much larger area than it does today. Umbria was formally adopted as the name of the region after the unification of Italy (1861).
Umbria is mainly a mountainous and hilly region, with the highest peaks of the Apennines between Umbria and the Marches not rising above 1500 metres.
There is little flat land in the region, and this is generally situated in the river valleys: the valley of the Tiber which runs across the region from north to south in the west, and the Umbrian valley to the east.
There are also smaller valleys and basins surrounded by mountains scattered throughout the region.
Gubbio Gubbio
Perugia Perugia
Assisi Assisi
Marmore Waterfall Marmore Waterfall
Orvieto Orvieto